Photos from Café Allongé

Here’s a first sampling of photos from Montréal  If you were a participant in this project, we’d love it if you could take a moment to tell us about your experience by adding a comment to this post.

Andrew Salyer at Cafe Pikolo

Cecilia Leon at Caffe in Gamba

Dale Kaminski at Le Cagibi

Erin Briddick at Cafe Pi

Erin Hood at Brulerie St. Denis

Jamie Landry at Pour Quoi Pas

James Burling at Laika

Katrina Schaag at Cafe Olimpico

Marina Kelly at Cafe Myriade

Megan Marsh-McGlone at Club Social

Megwyn Sanders-Andrews at Croissanterie Figaro

Nicole Roerick at Boutique Kusmi

7 thoughts on “Photos from Café Allongé

  1. I was very impressed with the intention of this project in creating a awareness of the role of the service economy in sustaining theatrical production. I also appreciated the intention to bring ASTR participants out of the insular conference world into different parts of Montreal. I found the special session at ASTR both engaging and thought provoking.

    I participated in Marina’s walking performance and was deeply touched by the generosity of her performance.

    I look forward to participating in future Spatula and Barcode performances–your work is inspiring!

    All the Best,
    Jean O’Hara
    York University

  2. I thoroughly enjoyed my time with Katrina at Cafe Olimpico.

    I was struck by how she created a space that was both public and private (we were in many ways centered in the cafe, framed by a fireplace at the back of the store), and held on to her character even as other patrons looked on curiously.

    The story she performed was intriguing, and her invitations to me to join the narrative and to be in the moment were handled with grace and aplomb.

    I was also impressed by how she created a rich fantasy space for both of us even as quotidian Montreal neighborhood life went on around us . . .

    Thanks for a terrific experience!

    Yrs, jd
    Jill Dolan
    Princeton University

  3. (Was) Going to walk in the same direction after it was done, but didn’t. Couldn’t break the effect of the sudden, forced, hiatus. Show over; the shared moment brought to an abrupt end. Haunting voice, a figure before me prompting me to follow, making me into the uneasy male stalker in step with someone talking to herself. A figure? Not quite, that voice kept revealing much more than I would expect to hear or even want to know. She was both figure and character. Figure as in someone doing figuration in the usual set of my daily life. A character in that she was dramaturgically “round,” yet… Yet… She kept speaking of going when in fact she was engaging with a return upon her self, her life, her stalker. She turns around to assess the impact of certain sentences. It might have seemed contrived if not for the effect of that confidently held gaze. No, this wasn’t provocation, it was engagement. “I said this, are you still with me?” Going to tell you my life. All is movement, all is action, even the a posteriori story telling set in the future tense. Going to; but you have. And you are. And I’m kept in step. Flirting with confession, flirting with self-revelation or autofiction. The details don’t matter all that much. Might or might not be true. We’re both in a trans. The talker and the stalker, both walkers. A voice and an ear. Four feet. The anonymous crowd. The cold Montreal streets. Her story. Mine. My life put on hold for twenty minutes. Daydreaming as I listen to her tale. Walking the streets but I only see her. Her story becomes mine. I’m going to as well, aren’t I. I was going to. What haven’t I? What significant “biographems” would I include? Depends on who is listening and what discourse I want them to hear from me. Going to, going, gone. The meeting was in the movement. Keeping pace, slowing down, keeping a respectful distance, while also signifying that I was still there, still interested, still listening. The movement forward was as inevitable as it was fleeting. But I knew she would return to Café Myriade for the next performance. Too bad that I knew this. I prefer to imagine her walking the streets, haunting them with her enveloping voice. Going to, going to… Hoping to again. Chance meeting. Can’t walk by those streets now without half expecting people from the crowd to break out into a confessional litany. Hearing everyone’s interior monologue would be insufferable, but this one was a tonic. Thank you.

    Patrick

    Dr. Louis Patrick Leroux
    Associate Professor / Professeur agrégé

    Department of English & Département d’Études françaises
    Concordia University

  4. Thanks to you all for creating spaces outside the ASTR hotel for such memorable Montreal experiences. I was only able to see two of the performances, Erin H. and Katrina, but wished I could have spend the day venturing from cafe to cafe, exploring neighborhoods and sharing performance. My morning moments with Erin were full of embodied memories and a chance to perhaps better understand the ongoing relationship with my own body–she facilitated in such a short time some clear realizations I hadn’t articulated in a long time (and inspired a much longer and ongoing inner dialogue throughout my day about the limits of the body, pain, and physicality). Taking a cab from there I found Katrina, in the back of a bustling and lively cafe, so unlike the one I had just left. A different crowd and one just right for her piece–we seemed to fit there, all feathers and swirling movement, a bit of fantasy in the midst of daily life and no one seemed to bat an eye. Her confidence drew me in, to think, play, recall. I remember reflecting on joy and objects and theory and landscape. Later I felt somewhat hesitant to draw, to fit around the words provided and even later kept thinking of these words, and how few opportunities there are to engage in this kind of freedom of thought and image, and I wished I was still drawing.

    Thanks to both artists for inspiring me, and to LB and Michael for making it happen! –jen

  5. I had a marvelous conversation with Erin Hood, facilitated by her very thoughtful and well designed performance. I wish I had been able to attend others as well, but if it was to be only one, I chose the right one for me! Her questions about pain and beauty prompted new thought streams.

  6. Pingback: Clark and Peterson

Leave a Reply (Comments are moderated)

