Skip to content

Café Allongé Artists Bring Gallery Night to the Coffee Scene

October 10, 2013
by

On Friday night October 4th I had the thrilling experience of zipping around downtown to check on the 6 performances from the Café Allongé project that were happening almost simultaneously. Like so much else about the project, this enriched my sense of Madison’s geography and culture and yet again made me appreciate this town.

5:35 pm: Marina Kelly prepares to lead her audience away from Michelangelo's Coffee House.

6:35 pm: Marina Kelly prepares to lead her audience away from Michelangelo’s Coffee House.

Katie Schag performing at Indie Coffee overlooking Regent St.

6:45 pm: When I walk in to see Katie Schag performing at Indie Coffee overlooking Regent St., she and her audience are singing a song together, and it sounds so good I’m worried for a moment that there’s a music performance booked at the same time.

7:10 pm: Jeff Casey discourses on friendship at Barriques on Park St.

7:10 pm: Jeff Casey discourses on friendship at Barriques on Park St.

Jill Casid at Barriques West Washington

7:25 pm: Jill Casid’s piece is about, among other things, photography, so I felt OK about obnoxiously snapping phone pix of this intense conversation at Barriques West Washington.

Barry and Velliquette tarot reading.

7:30pm: On my way out, I realize that Quan Barry and Michael Velliquette have moved up the street from Electric Earth to do their gallery night tarot reading.

Angela Richardson performing in the lighted front window of Cafe Zoma.

7:45pm: When I reach the sidewalk outside Cafe Zoma’s big glass window, I can’t help but think that Angela Richardson doesn’t need the common theatre advice to “find your light.”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2013 7:45 am

    Hello Michael & Laurie Beth! I’m one of the students in Practice Based Research in the Arts. I was visiting around your website. Wonderful work. And what a great Geo-Cultural night you had here. Kind of like the museum / theater hall writ as public space.

  2. Anonymous permalink
    October 10, 2013 10:06 pm

    I just wanted to say that I attended this, and I was so engaged, hypnotized and impressed by the quality of the moments that I had, and in these everyday places that I had been to multiple times before–transformed. It stuck with me for days afterwards. Thank you.

Trackbacks

  1. Café Allongé, Fall 2013 – Sign up for a performance with me! | Katrina Schaag

Leave a Reply (Comments are moderated)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

